How To: Sew Your Own Cloth Pads


I love cloth pads- the lack of waste, not having to pay for tampons, and skipping the disposable crinkle reminiscent of wearing a diaper. For me switching to cloth was a no-brainer… except for the $10 a pop price tag. Luckily making your own personal fit sewing patterns for these is crazy easy. Also you can upcycle whatever materials you have on hand. Let’s get sewing!


I drew up my pattern based on my undies and the coverage I prefer. Don’t forget to add a 1/4″ seam allowance.


I trace with sharpie. Always better to trim extra later than cut the pattern too close. I had waterproof diaper PUL for the backing, but I’ve also used fleece and denim as water-resistant backings instead and both worked fine. I had half a fat quarter of 100% cotton leftover and used that for the top layer. You can also use flannel, minky, t-shirt, or anything that will soak up water and feel comfy against your skin.


For the absorbent layer I used terrycloth (towel) strips today. I like 2 strips for medium absorbency. You can use more or fewer, and again any absorbent material will work- I’ve used flannel, t-shirt, and old receiving blanket material before. Stitch to the top layer in whatever shape you prefer, just make sure to go around the edge to keep the absorbent layer from bunching later in the wash.


Next pin the front and backs together inside out- more pins is better so there’s no slipping.


Sew 1/4″ from the edge, leaving a hole between the starting point and end point which you will need to flip them right-side-out.


Using that hole, flip your pad. I like to use a pen to shove out the small corners.


Once flipped, go around the edges with a top stitch. This will close the hole you made and keep your pad flat.


For the closure I like to use these leftover diaper snaps I have. I’ve also used sew-on metal snaps before or you can use a small piece of Velcro or a simple button and button hole. The button is probably most readily available, but takes a second longer to fasten and unfasten.


That’s it! This pattern folds into the shape on the left for use. And I especially like this pattern because it folds in on itself and makes a discrete, secure, waterproof square for carrying around dirties until they can be tossed in the laundry.

Feel free to hit me with questions and happy mensies! 

One Comment Add yours

  1. atkokosplace says:

    This is so much better than using store bought. Not only do you save money, you save your body from absorbing chemicals! Well done. Your pattern is smart!

    Like

Leave a Reply

