Recipe: Zero Waste Sunscreen

Today my baby and I spent a long day outside with friends. He had his sun hat on and I wore my big sunglasses, but we both got just a little too much sun! I tend to use our sunscreen sparingly since it comes in a non-recyclable plastic bottle and even with the natural, organic stuff, contains ingredients that I’m not thrilled to slather us in. The solution finally showed up in the form of a new bulk store here in Denver called Zero Market! They had a soft opening today and I was able to purchase all of the ingredients for a natural, unpackaged sunscreen! I’m so thrilled to share the results!


Our sunscreen:

6 Tbsp zinc oxide

1 tsp carrot seed oil

1 tsp vitamin E oil

2 Tbsp cocoa butter, melted

3 Tbsp shea butter, melted

Combine, mixing until smooth.

It goes on white but seems to rub in clearer than the store-bought version! Obviously this is non-commercial grade sunscreen and has varying degrees of effectiveness. It’s meant to be used in conjunction with sun gear, but I love this as an alternative solution!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Valerie says:

    That’s awesome! I wish there was a store like that here! Does the sunscreen smell as amazing as I’m guessing it does? ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. noelietrex says:

      Surprisingly it smells very similar to natural, organic sunscreens we’ve purchased! I know smell is a silly gauge of effectiveness, but smelling similar and having a similar feel are making me feel super confident!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. atkokosplace says:

    That’s fantastic that you make your own sunscreen. It’s much better than the chemical stuff any day! You are lucky you have a store like that near you. Carrot seed oil is great for skin! Great post. Have a wonderful day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

