Recipe: Almond Meal Thumbprint Cookies

Thumbprint cookies are my favorite use for the pulp you get when making your own almond milk. I make a variation of these as teething cookies for my son as well (make bricks instead of circles and skip the jam), but this is the original recipe. These are not a super sugary cookie. They’re great with tea or coffee!

Preheat oven to 375*F
Ingredients:

1c fresh almond pulp (still wet, if you don’t want to make these right away leave your pulp in tupperware in the fridge up to 2 weeks)

1/4c all purpose baking flour

2tbsp melted butter (Vegan butter is used here)

2 shakes cinnamon

1/2 banana






Mix all ingredients in a bowl until you have a dough that’s about the consistency of a cheeseball. Then pinch and roll out your cookies pressing your thumb into the center of each one (yields ~6).

Fill the indents with jam, jelly, or preserves of your choosing. If you can your own this can be completely ZW! I have store bought here.

Bake at 375*F for 20-25 minutes.

I like to allow mine to cool on the tray for an additional 15 minutes to have a crispier bottom, but that’s optional based on preference.

Enjoy!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Almost no ingredients, just the way I like it haha! I’m a big fan of using banana to add some extra sweetness to a recipe. Instantly makes it healthier than a whole bunch of sugar, am I right. I love that you added jam to these. I’m never used almond pulp, but hey, there’s a first for everything!

    I’d love to invite you to share your recipes with our community of passionate foodies! We’re always on the lookout for fun, new and delicious recipes like this one. Be sure to check us out: https://www.facebook.com/groups/OnlyGoodEats

    Like

Leave a Reply

